jump to navigation

Daniele Bennati Wins Stage 17 July 26, 2007

Posted by dperry1ma in Ag2r, CSC, Daniele Bennati, Daniele Righi, David Millar, Erik Zabel, Francaise des Jeux, Gerolsteiner, Gert Steegmans, Jens Voight, Lampre, Liquigas, Manuel Quinziato, Markus Fothen, Martin Elmiger, Matteo Tosatto, Quick Step, Quickstep, Robbie Hunter, Robert Forster, Saunier Duval, Sebastien Chavanel, Stage 17, Sven Krauss, Tom Boonen, Tour de France.
add a comment

Daniele Bennati Winning Stage 17A long flat ride through the plains offered little excitement, which was a welcome state after one of the most tumultuous days in the history of the Tour yesterday.

Jens Voight (CSC) led a breakaway starting at 9km that built an 8 min. lead for the group of 8 by the 170km mark. The peloton and GC contenders decided early not to chase, so it was very quiet day indeed at the top of the standings. In addition to Voight, the group included Martin Elmiger (Ag2r), Daniele Bennati (Lampre), Daniele Righi (Lampre), David Millar (Saunier Duval), Markus Fothen (Gerolsteiner), Manuel Quinziato (Liquigas), Matteo Tosatto (Quick Step). On the final hill in the stage (a Cat 4 bump) he attacked the group and broke it up leading a group of 4 (Voight, Bennati, Elmiger and Fothen) into a high speed chase to the finish.

The success of the break created two sprints; the four man break played cat-and-mouse until 100m when Daniele Bennati took a very short sprint. Bennati’s win is the second stage win by an Italian rider in this year’s Tour, and the first by a Lampre rider this year. The scattered remaining elements of the original 8 man breakaway straggled in, leaving the teams’ sprint specialists to battle for the 9th spot points.

The second sprint materialized in the same final 100m with Boonen’s Quickstep escort setting him up perfectly. Boonen took the points for 9th, Sebastien Chavanel trailing him by a full bike length and Robbie Hunter took 11th, maintaining his hold on 2nd place in the Green Jersey standings.

Contador donned the Yellow Jersey following the stage, Tom Boonen retained the Green Jersey, and Mauricio Soler has captured this year’s KOM Polka Dot Jersey. The Yellow Jersey and the Green Jersey are still up for grabs, with Contador, Evans and Leipheimer all in a position to win or lose the Yellow Jersey in Cognac Saturday, and Boonen, Hunter and Zabel still able to win or lose the Green Jersey over the next 3 days.

Today’s Top Finishers:

1. BENNATI Daniele 82 LAMPRE-FONDITAL 4h 14′ 04″
2. FOTHEN Markus 93 GEROLSTEINER 4h 14′ 04″
3. ELMIGER Martin 65 AG2R PREVOYANCE 4h 14′ 04″
4. VOIGT Jens 38 TEAM CSC 4h 14′ 04″
5. MILLAR David 201 SAUNIER DUVAL – PRODIR 4h 16′ 45″ + 02′ 41″
6. TOSATTO Matteo 178 QUICK STEP – INNERGETIC 4h 16′ 47″ + 02′ 43″
7. QUINZIATO Manuel 157 LIQUIGAS 4h 17′ 24″ + 03′ 20″
8. RIGHI Daniele 87 LAMPRE-FONDITAL 4h 17′ 24″ + 03′ 20″
9. BOONEN Tom 171 QUICK STEP – INNERGETIC 4h 23′ 41″ + 09′ 37″
10. CHAVANEL Sébastien 162 FRANCAISE DES JEUX 4h 23′ 41″ + 09′ 37″
11. HUNTER Robert 216 BARLOWORLD 4h 23′ 41″ + 09′ 37″
12. FÖRSTER Robert 92 GEROLSTEINER 4h 23′ 41″ + 09′ 37″
13. ZABEL Erik 181 TEAM MILRAM 4h 23′ 41″ + 09′ 37″
14. STEEGMANS Gert 176 QUICK STEP – INNERGETIC 4h 23′ 43″ + 09′ 39″
15. KRAUSS Sven 96 GEROLSTEINER 4h 23′ 43″ + 09′ 39″


Millar Slams Rasmussen July 24, 2007

Posted by dperry1ma in David Millar, Doping, Michael Rasmussen, Tour de France.
1 comment so far

David Millar, once punished for using EPO, and now a strong voice against doping, spoke out harshly against Michael Rasmussen. Citing Rasmussen’s failure to register his location while training, as required so he could be tested outside of events, Millar believes the Yellow Jersey wearing Rasmussen has irreperably damaged this year’s Tour.

With the Tour and professional cycling already reeling from a series of high profile doping scandals, the Tour organizers need a clean race, and a clean winner. Organizers have worked hard to re-establish the credibility of the riders and teams participating, but the suspicions swirling around Rasmussen have undermined that.

Rasmussen was dismissed from the Danish national team for the infractions, and will not be riding in either the world championships or the olympics for Denmark as a result.

read more from VeloNews | digg story

Overall Standings after Stage 2 July 9, 2007

Posted by dperry1ma in Alexander Vinokourov, Andreas Kloden, Bradley Wiggins, David Millar, Fabian Cancellara, George Hincapie, Stage 2, Thor Hushovd, Tom Boonen, Tour de France, Vladimir Gusev, Vladimir Karpets.
add a comment

Cancellara finished in the bifurcated peloton after the crash, but was one of those who went down in the pack of 20+ riders, and appeared to be nursing a serious injury to his left arm.

1. Fabian Cancellara (Swi), CSC, 8:36:13
2. Andréas Klöden (G), Astana, at 0:13
3. David Millar (GB), Saunier Duval-Prodir, at 0:21
4. George Hincapie (USA), Discovery Channel, at 0:23
5. Bradley Wiggins (GB), Cofidis, s.t.
6. Vladimir Gusev (Rus), Discovery Channel, at 0:25
7. Tom Boonen (B), Quick Step-Innergetic, at 0:26
8. Vladimir Karpets (Rus), Caisse D’Epargne, s.t.
9. Thor Hushovd (Nor), Crédit Agricole, at 0:29
10. Alexandre Vinokourov (Kaz), Astana, at 0:30

McEwen overcomes crash to win stage July 9, 2007

Posted by dperry1ma in David Millar, David Zabriskie, Fabian Cancellara, Mark Cavendish, Predictor-Lotto, Quickstep, Quickstep-Innergetic, Sebastien Chavanel, Team Crédit Agricole, Team Predictor-Lotto, Thor Hushovd, Tom Boonen, Uncategorized.
add a comment

Robbie McEwen got back into Stage 1 today with a lot of help from his Predictor-Lotto teamates after crashing, or rather being crashed into, during a slow down in the peloton about 25km from the finish. After considerable effort to both overcome injuries to a hand, wrist and leg, and to catch up with the peloton, he still had enough juice to sweep around the right side of the pack for a sprint to the finish line. McEwen was well behind the front edge of the peloton when he made his move, and apparently the other sprinters had written him off as a threat, because the whole group appeared to be caught by surprise for a split second. It was all the advantage he needed as he crossed the line a full bike length ahead of Thor Hushovd. Third place provided some additional drama as Tom Boonen and Sebastian Chavanel provided a photo finish with Boonen leading by inches.

Fabian Cancellara crossed with the peloton and held onto his yellow jersey for at least another day, while David Millar assumed the Polka Dot jersey, and McEwen the green thanks to their performances today. Both David Zabriskie and Mark Cavendish lost over 2 minutes after dropping off the peloton during separate incidents.

Complete results here and at the official site

Top Finishers

1. MC EWEN Robbie 46 PREDICTOR – LOTTO 04:39:01
2. HUSHOVD Thor 101 CREDIT AGRICOLE 04:39:01 + 00:00:00
3. BOONEN Tom 171 QUICK STEP – INNERGETIC 04:39:01 + 00:00:00
4. CHAVANEL Sébastien 162 FRANCAISE DES JEUX 04:39:01 + 00:00:00
5. FEILLU Romain 134 AGRITUBEL 04:39:01 + 00:00:00
6. FÖRSTER Robert 92 GEROLSTEINER 04:39:01 + 00:00:00
7. FREIRE Oscar 56 RABOBANK 04:39:01 + 00:00:00
8. BURGHARDT Marcus 22 T-MOBILE TEAM 04:39:01 + 00:00:00
9. VENTOSO Francisco 209 SAUNIER DUVAL – PRODIR 04:39:01 + 00:00:00
10. VAITKUS Tomas 119 DISCOVERY CHANNEL TEAM 04:39:01 + 00:00:00

Saunier Duval-Prodir Roster June 30, 2007

Posted by dperry1ma in Angel Litu Gomez, Christophe Rinero, David Canada, David de la Fuente, David Millar, Francisco Ventoso, Iban Mayo, Iker Camano, Jesus del Nero, Jose Angel Gomez Marchante, Juanjo Cobo, Ruben Lobato, Saunier Duval.
add a comment

Saunier Duval-Prodir announced its final roster for the 2007 Tour de France: Iker Camaño, Juanjo Cobo, David de la Fuente, Rubén Lobato, José Ángel Gómez Marchante, Iban Mayo, David Millar, Christophe Rinero and Francisco Ventoso.

The reserves will be David Cañada, Ángel Litu Gómez and Jesús del Nero.